Introduction and intentions

About
“But I want first of all…to be at peace with myself. I want a singleness of eye, a purity of intention, a central core to my life that will enable me to carry out these obligations and activities as well as I can.” -Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift From the Sea

My name is Maureen and I’m a twenty-something Orthodox Christian living in Indiana. This is a record of thoughts and reflections on Orthodoxy. It is intended as a personal record; I won’t be delving into theology so much as trying to show as accurately as I can how my faith acts as that central core that AML talks about. Posting will likely be sporadic.

The details
In the divide of cradle vs. convert, I fall awkwardly somewhere in between. I was eight months old when my parents converted to Orthodoxy and have grown up in the Church. However, I am American and have no culturally Orthodox heritage.

I have attended parishes in several jurisdictions but currently attend a mission of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church here in Indianapolis. I have always attended Old Calendar parishes and that is my orientation; however, I don’t consider myself an Old Calendarist as such. (Nor do I intend to get into that debate here.)

Other places to find me
I blog about books here
Twitter

Leave a comment